Misdemeanor Criminal Defense Attorney
A misdemeanor may appear to be a minor offense that will likely lead to only a fine or community service, but you need to keep in mind that misdemeanor charges that are ignored can lead to unpleasant ramifications. Misdemeanors attract imprisonment, fines, suspension of driver’s license, and limitations in educational opportunities available. Our law firm can help you with your misdemeanor criminal defense.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can be the difference between punishment and a criminal record against your name as opposed to freedom and the charges being dropped. Skilled lawyer Alex R. Hernandez Jr. knows how the prosecution approaches these cases, and if the judge is not convinced beyond reasonable doubt that there is indeed a case against the defendant, then the charges against the accused may be dropped.
Texas Penal Code Sec. 12.03.
MISDEMEANOR CRIMINAL LAWS
(a) Misdemeanors are classified according to the relative seriousness of the offense into three categories:
(1) Class A misdemeanors;
(2) Class B misdemeanors;
(3) Class C misdemeanors.
(b) An offense designated a misdemeanor in this code without specification as to punishment or category is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Conviction of a Class C misdemeanor does not impose any legal disability or disadvantage.
Class A Misdemeanor
In Texas, class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $4,000, or both jail time and a fine. (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.21.)
Common Class A Misdemeanors in Texas include:
- Assault Causing Bodily Injury
- Assault Causing Bodily Injury – Family Member
- Driving While Intoxicated Misdemeanor Repetition
- Driving While Intoxicated BAC >/= .15 (.08 is the legal limit)
- Evading Arrest
- Theft $750-2500
- Resisting Arrest
Class B Misdemeanor
Under Texas’s laws, a class B misdemeanor is punishable by:up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, or both.(Tex. Penal Code Ann. § 12.22.)
Common Class B misdemeanors include:
- Criminal Mischief $100-$750
- Criminal Trespass
- Driving While Intoxicated
- Driving While Intoxicated – Open Container
- Theft $100-$750
- Possession of Marijuana under 2 Ounces
Class C Misdemeanor
Class C misdemeanors in Texas are punishable by a fine of up to $500. There is no jail time for a class C misdemeanor. (Tex. Penal Code Ann. § § 12.03, 12.23.)
We normally tell our clients to handle their own Class C misdemeanors because of the cost associated.
A good lawyer will try his best to ensure that a repeat misdemeanor by the client does not get treated as a felony. A felony charge attracts stiffer punishment.
Get in touch with us and we’ll study your case and offer consultation on the appropriate course of action for your given situation. Call us today for secure and zealous representation.
Alex R. Hernandez Jr. can be directly reached at 361-792-3811 ext 101
Named Three Best Rated Criminal Defense Attorneys
Misdemeanor Lawyer Near Me Me
Corpus Christi 361-792-3811
San Antonio 210-960-9008
1-888-HDZLAW-8 MISDEMEANOR CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS